top of page
Search
kalliopi Ziplon

30 tips and advises on how to end a new date and a new relationship without making the other person

30 tips and advises on how to end a new date and a new relationship without making the other person mad at you or to feel insulted in any way. Smart ways to make them end it and to make them feel you are not a good match for them.

1. Start with a compliment: Begin the conversation with a compliment about the other person, to set a positive tone. For example, "I really appreciate the time we've spent together, and I think you're a great person." "I'm grateful for the opportunity to get to know you but…..”

2. Avoid blaming: Instead of placing blame on the other person, focus on your own feelings and reasons for ending things. For example, "I don't feel like we're a good match for each other, and it's not because of anything you did wrong." "I want to be honest about my feelings, and it's important for me to emphasize that this isn't about blaming anyone. I've realized that we have different long-term goals and values, which is why I think it's best for both of us to move in separate directions." "It's not about pointing fingers or finding fault; it's about recognizing that we have different needs and expectations in a relationship. I believe that we both deserve to be with someone who aligns better with what we're looking for, and I hope we can both find that."

3. Choose the right time and place: Pick a private and neutral location to have the conversation, and avoid ending things over text or social media.

4. Be respectful: Show respect for the other person's feelings and emotions, and try to minimize their pain. For example, "I know this might be hard for you to hear, but I feel like it's important to be honest with you." "I want to approach this conversation with the utmost respect for your feelings. It's not easy for me either, but I believe that honesty and respect are the foundation for any meaningful conversation." "I genuinely value the time we've spent together, and it's crucial to me that we part ways with respect for each other. This decision isn't made lightly, but I think it's the right thing for both of us."

5. Be honest: Be honest about your feelings and why you want to end the relationship, but avoid being hurtful or critical. For example, "I don't feel like we have a strong enough connection to continue dating." "I believe in open and honest communication, so I want to be straightforward with you. While I've enjoyed our time together, I've come to realize that I don't feel the strong connection that I believe is essential for a lasting relationship." "It's important to me that we have an honest conversation about where we stand. I want to emphasize that my decision to end this isn't a reflection of your character. I simply don't feel the deep emotional connection that I believe is necessary for both of us to be truly happy in a relationship."

6. Be direct: Don't beat around the bush or try to sugarcoat things. Get straight to the point, but be gentle. For example, "I think it's best if we end things now, before things get more serious." "I want to have a direct and honest conversation with you. After careful consideration, I believe it's best for both of us to end things at this point, rather than prolonging a situation that might not be right for either of us." "I value transparency in relationships, so I want to be straightforward with you. I think it's in our best interests to end our romantic involvement now, rather than continuing down a path that doesn't feel right for me."

7. Use "I" statements: Use "I" statements to express your own feelings and experiences, rather than making assumptions or accusations about the other person. For example, "I feel like we're not quite on the same page, and I don't think we're right for each other." "I believe it's important to be honest about my own feelings, so I want to share that I don't feel like we're completely aligned in what we're looking for in a relationship. I think it's best for me to step back at this point." "I value our time together, and I want to express my own perspective. I've realized that I don't feel the compatibility and connection I had hoped for, and I think it's fair to both of us to acknowledge that."

8. Don't make promises you can't keep: Avoid making promises to stay friends or to give the relationship another chance if you know you're not interested. For example, "I don't think it's a good idea for us to stay in touch, at least for now." "I believe in being honest and upfront, so I want to let you know that I don't think it's wise for us to stay in touch or attempt to maintain a friendship at this time." "It's essential to me that we part ways with clarity. I don't want to make any false promises, and I believe it's best for both of us to move forward separately without any expectations of rekindling the relationship."

9. Don't drag things out: Avoid prolonging the conversation or giving false hope to the other person. For example, "I think it's best if we end things now and move on." "I don't want to prolong this conversation unnecessarily. I believe it's in our best interest to end things now, rather than creating uncertainty or false hope." "I value your time and emotions, so I think it's best for both of us to bring this conversation to a close. Ending things now allows us to move forward and focus on our respective paths."

10. Listen to their perspective: Allow the other person to express their thoughts and feelings, and listen to their perspective without interrupting or becoming defensive. For example, "I understand that this might be difficult for you, and I'm here to listen if you need to talk." "I want to give you the space to share your thoughts and feelings. I know this might be tough, and I'm here to listen and understand your perspective." "Your feelings and thoughts are important, and I want to provide an opportunity for you to express them. I'm here to listen without interruption, and I value your perspective."

11. Be empathetic: Put yourself in the other person's shoes and try to see things from their perspective. For example, "I understand that this might be hard for you, and I'm sorry if I've caused you any pain." "I want you to know that I empathize with how challenging this might be for you. I'm genuinely sorry if my decision has caused you any pain." "I can imagine that this conversation is not easy for you, and I'm truly sorry if my actions or words have hurt you in any way. I didn't make this decision lightly."

12. Avoid ghosting: Ghosting, or disappearing without explanation, can be hurtful and disrespectful. Instead, have an honest conversation about your feelings.

13. Don't use cliches: Avoid using cliches or platitudes, such as "it's not you, it's me" or "let's just be friends." Instead, be honest and specific about your reasons for ending things.

14. Be gentle: Use a soft tone of voice and gentle language to convey your message. For example, "I'm sorry, but I don't think we're a good match for each other." "I want to approach this with as much gentleness as possible. I'm sorry to say that I don't believe we're the right fit for each other." "I hope I can convey this with kindness and gentleness. I regret to say that I don't think we're a good match for each other."

15. Avoid arguing: Avoid getting into an argument or trying to convince the other person to change their mind. For example, "I know this might be hard to accept, but I've made my decision." "I don't want us to get into an argument about this. I've thought it through, and I've made my decision." "I hope we can handle this with respect and understanding. I've considered my feelings carefully, and I'm firm in my decision."

16. Offer closure: Offer closure to the other person by answering any questions they may have or providing an explanation for your decision. For example, "I just don't feel like we're on the same page when it comes to our goals and values." "I want to provide closure and be as transparent as possible. One of the reasons for my decision is that I feel we're not completely aligned when it comes to our goals and values." "Closure is important to me, so I'm here to answer any questions you may have. Part of my decision stems from feeling that our goals and values aren't in sync."

17. Be specific: Give specific reasons why you're ending it

18. Use "we" statements: Use "we" statements to show that you see the relationship as a joint effort, and that ending it is a mutual decision. For example, "I think we both agree that this isn't working out." "I believe it's clear that we both agree this isn't working out, and I think it's in our best interest to move forward separately." "It's apparent to me that we both see this relationship in a similar light. We agree that it's best for us to part ways."

19. Be firm: While being polite and respectful, it's important to be firm in your decision to end things. For example, "I've thought about this a lot, and I'm sure that it's best if we end things now." "I want to emphasize that I've given this decision a lot of thought, and I'm sure that it's in both of our best interests to end things now." "I've carefully considered this, and I want to be clear that I'm certain it's the right choice for us to end things at this point."

20. Be prepared for different reactions: Be prepared for the other person to react in a variety of ways, such as sadness, anger, or confusion. Give them space and time to process their feelings.

21. Don't give mixed signals: Avoid giving the other person mixed signals, such as continuing to text or flirt with them, which can send the wrong message.

22. Be mindful of your body language: Be aware of your body language during the conversation, and try to be as open and non-threatening as possible. Avoid crossing your arms or looking away.

23. Avoid personal attacks: Refrain from making personal attacks or criticizing the other person's character, even if you feel frustrated or upset. Focus on the issues at hand.

24. Offer support: Offer support to the other person, such as suggesting they talk to a friend or therapist, or offering to help them find new social activities.

25. Be respectful of their feelings: Respect the other person's feelings, even if you don't agree with them. For example, "I understand that you're upset right now, and I'm here to listen if you want to talk about it."

26. Stay calm: Stay calm and composed during the conversation, even if the other person becomes upset or emotional.

27. Avoid gossiping: Avoid gossiping or spreading rumors about the other person after the breakup. This can create unnecessary drama and hurt feelings.

28. Avoid blaming external factors: Avoid blaming external factors, such as distance or busy schedules, for the end of the relationship. Instead, focus on the underlying issues.

29. End things with respect: End things with respect, and try to leave the other person with a positive impression. For example, "I'm really glad that we met, and I wish you all the best in the future."

30. Take responsibility: Take responsibility for your own actions and decisions, and avoid blaming the other person for the end of the relationship. For example, "I've realized that I'm just not ready for a serious relationship right now." "It's important for me to acknowledge my own feelings and actions. I've realized that I'm not in a place where I can fully commit to a serious relationship, and I take responsibility for that."


Some people don’t get no – rejection well. They can be upset and try to hurt you. To those kinds of people making them get bored of you may be the safe way to do it. Do not talk much when you go out with them, do not have time for the next date because you work overtime or you have some new seminars to go to. It is best not to let them know where you live and where you work when you meet new people until you are sure about them (at least wait a few weeks of dating to see how it goes).


Relationship Ending

Polite Breakup

Respectful Parting

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dear Diary 6

Dear Diary 6 , God, I am so angry with you! Once again, I am angry and I blame you for everything that is happening to me! I feel guilt...

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο 6

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο, 6 Θεέ μου, έχω θυμώσει πολύ μαζί σου! Για μία ακόμη φορά σου έχω θυμώσει και σου ρίχνω την ευθύνη για ό,τι μου...

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο 5

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο 5, Γιατί όλοι εμείς οι πληγωμένοι από τη λεκτική και σωματική κακοποίηση έχουμε τόσο μεγάλη ανάγκη να μας ακούσουν και...

Comments


bottom of page