top of page
Search

The Evolution of Expression From Experience to Possession

Τhe way we express ourselves has indeed changed over time. A few decades ago, we would say, "I am concerned," whereas now we say, "I have a problem." "I can't sleep" has become "I have insomnia," and "I am happy in my marriage" has become "I have a happy marriage." The difference lies in how we have replaced our experiences and emotions as if they were possessions, similar to objects.

Let's take the first example: "problem." By saying "I have a problem," we imply that the problem occupies and controls us. The way we phrase it suggests that we ourselves are the problem and that we can possess it. All the examples provided represent internal, living processes. They are not things that we possess nor are they purely physical sensations like bodily pain.

Pain has much less psychological connotation.

The way we express ourselves today tends to treat a mental phenomenon as if it were merely a physical symptom.

We externalize it and give it more power than it should have.

That's why we lose ourselves and become lost, thinking that we are solely defined by what we say and what happens to us.

We lose touch with who we are in the way we express ourselves.

We lose our essence and the ability to recognize our emotions. We don't give enough importance to how we feel, and as a result, we don't approach situations with wisdom because we lose our way and the meaning behind it all.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dear Diary 6

Dear Diary 6 , God, I am so angry with you! Once again, I am angry and I blame you for everything that is happening to me! I feel guilt...

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο 6

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο, 6 Θεέ μου, έχω θυμώσει πολύ μαζί σου! Για μία ακόμη φορά σου έχω θυμώσει και σου ρίχνω την ευθύνη για ό,τι μου...

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο 5

Αγαπητό ημερολόγιο 5, Γιατί όλοι εμείς οι πληγωμένοι από τη λεκτική και σωματική κακοποίηση έχουμε τόσο μεγάλη ανάγκη να μας ακούσουν και...

Comments


bottom of page